k+1 pigeons probably need a lot of birdseed

by arianambrand

So this sounds pretentious, but there’s nothing quite like doing math homework to Beethoven piano sonatas. It makes me feel like I’m in a dramatic film about math and that I’m on the verge of a grand discovery, even though all I am currently discovering is how to avoid obfuscating language in my proofs.

I wanted to share this recipe that I have made twice in the past month, because it is so delicious and easy. It’s adapted from Smitten Kitchen, of course, but I have Hungarianized the original dish a fair bit. Also I added cinnamon because, to my mind, there is no better vegetable/seasoning pairing than tomatoes and cinnamon except possibly Brussels sprouts and bacon.

Eggs in Spicy Tomato Sauce

Erős means ‘strong’ as in spicy, and csípős means ‘hot’ as in spicy. I’m actually not sure why one is used for paste and one for peppers. Édes means ‘sweet’, as in not spicy, and a bell pepper will do, although they are much sweeter than the round yellow peppers we have here. Smitten Kitchen Lady also sprinkles chopped parsley over her finished dish, and if there were some way to purchase fresh herbs in this city, I probably would too. It looks prettier. The hot sauce is also optional, but I think it adds some lovely sinus-clearing quality to the dish. Basically: it’s your food, do what you want.

1/4 cup olive oil
3 erős paprika, the long green kind (or 3 Anaheim peppers), ribs removed and diced
1 édes paprika, the fat yellow kind for stuffing (or 1 yellow bell pepper), ribs removed and diced
1 onion, diced
Salt
5 cloves garlic, sliced, green bits removed (I swear, all the garlic in Hungary is sprouted)
1 Tablespoon erős paprika
1-1.5 tsp cinnamon
0.5 tsp dried rosemary
1 28-oz (or 2 400g) can tomatoes
1 tbsp tomato paste (optional, but I think it deepens the taste of the sauce)
1 tsp csípős paprika paste (or siracha sauce)
1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
6 eggs (or two per person)

Heat olive oil over medium heat in a large skillet. Add the peppers and onions and a few shakes of salt and cook until onion is translucent and peppers are soft. Add garlic and stir until fragrant, about a minute. Remove pan from heat and add cinnamon, rosemary, and paprika, stirring constantly to prevent paprika from burning. When well-combined, add tomatoes, tomato paste, paprika paste, and 1/4 cup of water. Stir gently to combine, return to heat, and bring to a simmer until sauce is slightly thickened. Turn heat down to low.

Crack two eggs into a cup, and pour them together into a spot along the rim. Repeat with the other eggs, spacing the pairs evenly through the pan. Turn heat to medium and cover for 5 minutes. Spread cheese crumbles over the top of the sauce, turn heat to low, re-cover, and cook for two more minutes, or until eggs are cooked to your liking and the cheese is slightly melty. Eat with toasted buttered bread.

20120416-235044.jpg

My cooking photos are taken with an iPad and are not as magical as the Smitten Kitchen Lady’s. Someday…

