A very small hike

by arianambrand

I visited the farmer’s market in Buda early Saturday morning. It was lovely, and entirely full of Hungarians shopping, drinking tea, and eating sausages.

Gingerbread cookies for Easter. These are so pretty! I might get some for my roommates.

Acacia honey from Hungary. So pretty.

A jar of organic pig fat. Considered purchasing one, realized that would result in multiple meat pies and probably heart attacks all around, decided against it.

It was a pretty small market (the one in Boulder is bigger, the one in Claremont is a bit smaller) I bought a bread roll, picked a hill, and started climbing.

The views were lovely. Here I am looking East toward Gellert Hill. The river is just on the other side of it. I think you can see St Istvan’s Basilica (on the Pest side) off to the left there.

Looking North. Almost makes me wish I lived in Buda.

Looking Northwest. There was definitely a bit of trespassing engaged to get to the top of this hill, but there were lots of other people up there so I assume I just came in the back way. Anyway, it was beautiful.

Speaking of bread rolls, I made these honey yeast rolls the other day and they were so good I am having trouble restraining myself from making more. I cooked them in a 6-muffin pan, but you can divide the dough into ten parts, roll them in flour and put them into a cake pan to rise and bake.

2 tsp dry yeast (I used “instant” yeast. It worked fine.)
3/4 cup warm milk (barely warm to the touch)
2 Tb honey
1 tsp salt
2 Tb melted butter, cooled
1 egg, beaten
2-1/2 cups flour, plus extra for dusting

Place warm milk in a large bowl, and stir in the honey. Sprinkle yeast over the milk mixture and allow to bloom for a few minutes. Add the butter, salt, and egg to the milk mixture. Using a large spoon, stir in two cups of the flour, mix thoroughly, and then add enough flour to bring the dough into a mass. Spread some flour on a clean surface and knead your dough for a few minutes, adding more flour as necessary until dough is smooth and soft. Place the dough in a greased bowl, cover with plastic wrap (or a damp clean kitchen towel, although I have never had great success with this) and place the bowl in your oven, on the top rack. On the bottom rack, put some kind of heat-resistant bowl (I actually used our hideous skillet) and fill it with boiling water. This allows the dough to rise in a warm, moist environment and will give you a nice crumb. Close the oven door. Allow dough to rise for an hour.

Punch the dough down, and knead it for a few minutes. Divide it into 6 (or 10, or however many muffin spaces you have to fill) pieces and roll each into a ball. Place the bread balls into a well-greased muffin tin (remember to grease in between the cups, too. This dough poofs up a lot.) and allow to rise for 45 minutes, or until doubled. You can use the oven again (I did) but remember to take the rolls out ten minutes before you want to bake them so that you can preheat the oven.

Bake rolls at 375°F for 20 minutes or until lightly browned all over. Turn the rolls out of their pan and allow to cool. Eat with gusto, and butter and jam.

That is black currant jam, which I am totally considering smuggling back to the US, because it is amazing.

